Anyone who has followed the trajectory of my essays and reviews over the last decade or so will have noticed that I am increasingly uncomfortable with our ideas of what science fiction is. I am now working on a review for Strange Horizons that may take that on a step further. Certainly the review is becoming more complex the more I think about it, and right now it is possible that the review will hinge on the question of whether there is such a thing as science fiction at all.

I am happy to do a review that pushes at ideas like this because Strange Horizons has one of the best and most important review sections in the genre at the moment. It has amassed a coterie of knowledgeable, intelligent and challenging reviewers who really have to be read for their commentary on the field. It would be invidious to single out individuals because there are far too many of them who deserve to be mentioned, suffice it to say that I am honoured to be included in that company.

And right now Strange Horizons is coming to the end of its annual fundraising effort. You can find out more here. If you haven’t already given, make sure you do.

